Delaware College of Art and Design Board of Trustees elects new chair

December 20th 2016

The Delaware College of Art and Design Board of Trustees has selected Thomas J. Shopa, who has been a DCAD trustee for six years, as its chair for the 2016-18 term. Shopa succeeds R. Thorpe Moeckel, who had served as chair since June 2010.

Before retiring as a partner from BDO USA, a global professional services firm, Shopa was managing partner at McBride Shopa, an accounting and management consulting firm he co-founded in 1978. In addition to his service to DCAD, which began in December 2010, Shopa is a member and a past chair of the Delaware Community Foundation Board of Trustees. He also chairs the Wilmington Economic Financial Advisory Council and serves on the boards of the Delaware Economic and Financial Advisory Council and the William P. Frank Scholarship Fund. He had been treasurer of DCAD’s Board of Trustees since 2014.

Supporting Shopa’s leadership are his fellow Board officers. They are Justin D. Poser, vice chairman; Edmund Rutkowski, treasurer; and Alfred L. Spencer Jr., secretary.

Poser is the group vice president of Marketing and Communications for M&T Bank’s Wealth and Institutional Client businesses, which includes Wilmington Trust. He has been a DCAD trustee since December 2014.

Rutkowski retired from Pratt Institute as vice president for Finance and Administration in 2015. Before being named a DCAD trustee in June 2014, he had been an active representative from Pratt since DCAD’s inception.

Spencer is a delivery executive with Competitive Capabilities International, previously serving as assistant dean of the College of Business at Delaware State University and in various capacities at DuPont. He is a member of the Board of Overseers for the University of Pennsylvania Dental School and has been a DCAD trustee since April 2015.

Moeckel, who is vice president of Wohlsen Construction, is continuing his service to DCAD as a trustee. Completing the Board are Mati Bonetti de Buccini (executive director of Atelier Delaware); Hugh E. Curran, CMA, (senior vice president, finance, at Denver International Airport); Tenley I. de Ramel, Esq. (most recently corporate counsel for DuPont); Anne N. Edwards (former chair of the Corcoran’s Education Committee); Richard W. Eiger (retired president of the Macmillan Educational Co. and vice president of Primedia Inc.); John C. Hawkins (founding partner and current president and chief executive officer of ab+c Creative Intelligence); Dorothy R. Jacobson (retired senior vice president of the Rodel Foundation of Delaware); Monique Rollins (abstract artist and assistant to the director of Pratt Institute’s Pratt in Venice Program); Thomas F. Schutte (president of Pratt Institute); and Anne H. Van Ingen (adjunct professor at Columbia University and former director of Architecture, Planning & Design and Capital Projects for the New York State Council on the Arts).